Founder’s Day & Yenepoya Teacher Award 2019

Founder’s Day & Yenepoya Teacher Award 2019

Founder’s Day & Yenepoya Teacher Award 2019

“Be Proud to be an Indian. There is no substitute for hard work.”

Dr. S.M. Shivaprakasha at The Yenepoya School and Yenepoya P.U. College Founder’s Day Celebrations

The Yenepoya School and Yenepoya P.U. College, Jeppinamogaru, celebrated the Founder’s Day in memory of their great visionary Founder, Al-Haj Moideen Kunhi, on 14th November 2019. On this occasion, awards were given to Teachers who have made commendable work in the field of education in their respective schools. “Yenepoya Teacher Award 2019” was given to Mr. Edward D’Souza, Teacher, D. K. Z. P. Hr. Pry. School, Kattadabailu, Belthangady in the Primary Category and Mr. Chandrashekhara Peralu, Headmaster, Government High School, Elimale, Sullia in the High School Category. These two awardees were chosen from a number of applicants from around D. K. Dist. The awardees were felicitated with a Citation, and a cash award of Rs. 10,000/- It was also the birthday of Mr. Y. Abdullah Kunhi, Chancellor, Yenepoya Deemed to be University. The School children, Staff and the entire Yenepoya Group wished him happy and long life on this very special day.

Yenepoya Moideen Kunhi (YMK) Memorial Lecture 2019 was delivered by Dr. S. M. Shivaprakasha, Former Dean, College of Fisheries, Mangaluru. He was the Chief Guest and the Key Note Speaker for the day. He stressed upon the need for all of us Indians to be proud of our rich heritage and he mentioned that the need of the hour is to be innovative and to leave a mark for the good wherever you go. He also stressed on the point of continuous learning. We should be active listeners and be always pro-active in our actions.

The Programme was presided over by Mr. Farhaad Yenepoya, Pro-Chancellor, Yenepoya Deemed to be University. Mrs. Nasreen Abdullah, Campus Director Mrs. Mishria Javed, Yenepoya School and P. U. College Principal Mr. Joseph Mechirath, Vice Principal Mrs. Reshma Nayak were present at the ceremony.

The Scrutiny Board to choose a winner in each category included experienced people in the field of education. They are: Prof.  Vivek Rai, Ex-Vice Chancellor, Kannada, Hampi University,  Dr. C. V. Raghuveer, Pro-Vice Chancellor, Yenepoya (Deemed to be University), Dr. Arun Bhagwath, Director (Quality, Assessment and Compliance) Yenepoya (Deemed- to- be University),  Dr. K. K. Achar, Prof. of Bio Statistics, Yenepoya (Deemed to be University) Research Centre.  Dr. Sumanth Shetty, Paediatrics; and Mr. Purushottam, Retd. Subject Inspector, Science. The Yenepoya School is grateful to the Scrutiny Board Members for their time and effort in scrutinizing the applications.

The Programme was compered by Campus Co-Ordinator Mr. Anil A. D’Sa. The gathering was welcomed by Yenepoya School and P. U. College Principal Mr. Joseph Mechirath and the Vote of Thanks was rendered by Mrs. Deepthi. The Programme concluded with the National Anthem.